10 May 2014

Calgary Floorball Committee is Established


The Alberta Floorball Association is proud to announce its second branch association, the Calgary Floorball Committee, has been established!

EDMONTON (May 10, 2014) — The Alberta Floorball Association announced today that its second branch association, the Calgary Floorball Committee, is now operating out of Calgary.

The branch association has taken its first steps to becoming a full member of the Alberta Floorball Association and will soon be incorporated as a society within the province of Alberta. The committee is led by Nazir Walji, who will also inherit duties among the Executive Committee of the Alberta Floorball Association's Board of Directors as an Interim Executive Director.

Once the branch association has established operations, it will launch its own website at FloorballYYC.com, as well as a Facebook page and a Twitter feed.

In addition to the committee announcement, the Board also unveiled the logo for the Calgary Floorball Committee. The logo was designed by Tsvetoslav Lazarov of the Bulgarian firm Nearart, in association with 99designs. Lazarov had previously partnered with the Edmonton Floorball Committee on their logo design.

The Calgary Floorball Committee will have jurisdiction over the operations of the sport of floorball in the municipalities of Airdrie and Calgary, among other towns, villages, and municipal districts.

Floorball has been played in the Greater Calgary Area since the year 2008, when the Canadian National Floorball Championships were hosted at Cardel Place.

For more information, please e-mail us at info@floorballalberta.com.