1 May 2014

Introducing the Edmonton Floorball Committee


The Alberta Floorball Association is proud to announce its first branch association, the Edmonton Floorball Committee, is now operational!

EDMONTON (May 1, 2014) — The Alberta Floorball Association announced today that its first branch association, the Edmonton Floorball Committee, is now operating out of Edmonton.

The branch association has taken its first steps to becoming a full member of the Alberta Floorball Association and will soon be incorporated as a society within the province of Alberta. The committee is led by Andrzej Zadora, who will also inherit duties among the Executive Committee of the Alberta Floorball Association's Board of Directors as an Interim Executive Director.

Once the branch association has established operations, it will launch its own website at FloorballYEG.com, as well as a Facebook page and a Twitter feed.

In addition to the committee announcement, the Board also unveiled the logo for the Edmonton Floorball Committee. The logo was designed by Tsvetoslav Lazarov of the Bulgarian firm Nearart, in association with 99designs. Lazarov had previously partnered with the Northern Lights Floorball Club on their logo design.

The Edmonton Floorball Committee will have jurisdiction over the operations of the sport of floorball in the municipalities of Edmonton, Fort Saskatchewan, Leduc, Spruce Grove, and St. Albert, among other towns, villages, and municipal districts.

Floorball has been played in the Greater Edmonton Area since the year 2002, where it was first introduced to inner-city schools in Edmonton as 'unihockey'. Since then, several members of Edmonton's floorball clubs and leagues have gone on to represent Alberta and Canada at national and world championships.

For more information, please e-mail us at info@floorballalberta.com.